Starting the Transition

IMAG0417

Update #1: Update to change all updates: Updates will become regular, starting this week.

In January, I will go completely vegan for one month. I already know the most difficult part for me will be not eating cheese. Especially because I cannot afford “faux” cheese. But, I do believe in trying to cut out as many processed foods as possible, so that’s good.

From now until the end of my weight loss journey (July 12th) I will update this blog (at least) twice a week. I believe that is a commitment I can keep to. I will update with recipes, pictures, and stories.

My goal is to get to 140-145 lbs. Some people have said to me “it’s not about the number.” Here’s how I feel about that… I remember when I went from 125 to 145. Honestly, I didn’t think it was a big deal. I saw a difference, but it really didn’t give me a bad body image. I didn’t have any difference in the way I felt I looked and I was able to wear all my clothes comfortably.

When I gained this additional weight, and it went into the 160 area, I noticed a difference. I saw it in my stomach and thighs. I wasn’t comfortable with my image, and I wasn’t comfortable with my clothes. I wear tights or leggings with almost every skirt, and it is because I can feel my skin touch when I walk, and I really can’t stand it.

If, once I get down to 140, I still feel the thigh issues, I will specifically work at those areas. But I believe that I will be able to eat healtheir, walk more, do steps twice a week, and lose the weight I need to lose.

Update #2: The reason I am more committed than ever to change my diet: My 46 yr old brother had a heart attack.

About a month ago my brother was admitted to the hospital because of a heart attack, and over Thanksgiving, I learned that my father had a clog in the same artery.

I have not been a great eater. I was a terrible vegetarian for 6 years. By this, I mean I would stop for a month and then go back, do “only turkey and fish,” or abuse cheese. Also, I broke my vegetarianism for bacon about 4 times, and twice I ate a hot dog because I forgot I was going vegetarian.

Obviously, my heart wasn’t really in it.

Now, quite literally, it is.

I want to make sure I can do everything in my power to maintain a healthy lifestyle, and change my eating habits.

Update #3: I’d like to thank a few of the people who are helping me push for this success.

A. First, my partner, Ryan. He has had his own difficulty with weight, and while he continues his efforts, he has pledged to help me with mine. Due to his living situation, it is nearly impossible for him to maintain a healthy vegetarian or vegan lifestyle. In fact it’d be difficult for him to even pepper that in. While some people believe there are never excuses, as the person who loves him, I understand what’s happening and his reasoning.

He will, however, support me every step of the way. He will motivate me (as he already has) with text messages and inspiration. Remembering that I can get through it.

It also really helps to know that my future, with him, will be healthy when it comes to food (and really, everything else.) I had a great conversation with him this past weekend. We talked about how I’m still unsure if I’d be vegan forever, but I do know that I’d like to eat a lot less meat and cheese. I did talk about how I’d like to primarily eat vegan, and I had no idea if I could cut out cheese for the rest of my life, but if I make much better choices in how I purchase my meats and cheeses (all made in ways where I agree with the practices being used).

He totally understood. In fact, not only understood, but said “I’d really like that too.” My end date for my weight loss goal, July 12th, is when I move back to PA and live with Ryan. We’ve been excited about this date for probably 4 or 5 months at this point. Lately, the excitement has grown. I can’t wait to share our lives together, and especially in a healthy way.

B. Next, my roommate Nikki. Nikki is also transitioning from being vegetarian to being vegan. Currently, she has cut out cheese but not milk. She has also pledged to be completely vegan for January. To have someone, literally the person living with you, also taking the same voyage is beyond amazing. When I’m feeling low, she’ll be in the next room to root me on. And I for her. Also, because Ryan is not around, it’s great to have someone else, as I said, living with you, making the pledge.

C. Also, my father. My dad’s side of the family is really supportive about being vegetarian or vegan. My Aunt Rita is vegan, and I believe my cousin Lori is as well. When I went to my family picnic in September, I saw something totally cool. They had put all the vegan items on a seperate picnic table. Some might say, “Hey! Vegan discrimination!” But seeing as there were eggs that had bacon in it (and I didn’t know until I bit in), it was nice to see it all in one place. Also, there was a pretty great amount of stuff. Many family members made vegan version of their other food for the table. It wasn’t just a bag of potato chips. It was home made hummus, baba, and baked beans, and taco salad!

When I told my dad I was cutting out cheese, he asked if I was for Christmas. I said no, but I was going to eat vegetarian. My dad makes home made marinara for Christmas. He makes it by cooking many meats in the sauce for hours. I told him, since I’m not being picky about if for these last few weeks, so I would just eat the sauce, but not the chunks of meat. He offered to make me eggplant, so I can have something else to eat other than the pasta.

My dad always supports me with every decision I make. When I decided to go on a cross country documentary, he supported me. When I lived in Boulder, CO for 2 months for a Summer writing program, he supported me. Two years later, when I decided to move to California for grad school, he supported me. And now, as I change my eating habits, and as I’m living in Connecticut, he supports me.

D. An old friend, Ashely. Ashley and I have a funny history. We were on the same t-ball and softball teams growing up. But it turns out, her mom grew up with my brother. My dad has known her mom since she was a little kid running around the neighborhood. Ashley and I eventually went to middle school and high school together.

To be honest, we weren’t really close. I mean we were friendly, probably sat at the same lunch table when we had lunch together. I honestly blocked out a lot of my middle school and high school memories. I remember we grew a little closer Senior year in high school, but that’s really all I remember.

Back in September, I remember seeing Ashley posting a lot of stuff on Facebook about fitness and food. It was right around the time I was trying to get more motivated. (And I did get more motivated. I’ve lost 13 pounds since I started changing my eating and exercising more.) We started chatting here and there about food. We posted motivational pictures on eachother’s Facebook walls. We “hearted” pictures on Instagram of eachother making healthy meals and in fitness clothes.

Just about a week or two ago, Ashely suprised me with an amazing act of kindness. She sent me a box of healthy food. In it contained:

2 packets of Justin’s nut butters
2 boxes of Jovial gluten free brown rice pasta
1 box of Exekial 4:0 sprouted grain pasta
1 package Lundberg brown rice cakes
3 pure organic snack bars
1 big container of Bragg Liquid Aminos
1 bag of Bob’s Red Mill Vegi Soup Mix
A few bags of carmel apple tea
1 container of seaweed crisps

The only things I’ve had so far are the seaweed crisps (not a fan, but definitely appreciated it, and gave them to my boyfriend, who did like them very much) and the brown rice cakes (totally yummy! especially with the nut butters on them). Everything else I’m saving for my month of being vegan. It’ll be about trying new things, so I’ll try all of that food then.

—-

Well that’s all my updates. I’m focusing on eating a brand new way, and I’m going to focus on thinking about life that way. Happy Herbavore posted a really great, personal article about “no regrets.” Here’s the link: http://happyherbivore.com/2012/12/minimalist-monday-no-regrets/ While I have had regrets about the way I’ve done things in the past, I have to remember that those decisions led me to where I am now. Which makes me entirely excited and happy.

Also, on a personal note, my partner and I are partaking in the “12 Days of Christmas.” On the second day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: A Hunter S. Thompson journal. On the cover, it says “Buy the ticket, Take the ride,” a quote of Hunter’s. I have decided to make that my journal about my journey with food and weight loss and etc. and how Ryan supports me with it.

Alright, back to the day ahead, and to a night of cooking. 🙂

One thought on “Starting the Transition

Leave a comment