Day 5: The Importance of Walking

Yesterday, my partner sent me the photo to my right with the caption “We r exploring. There’s some cool stuff around my house!!!”

I was elated.

This week, my partner decided to start walking with his son. They have the opportunity to spend quality time together, and he sets an excellent example for his son. The lesson, exercise can be easy and enjoyable, is so crucial for younger children (he’s 13) to learn. Unfortunately, I also deleted the picture he sent me of a huge field they found. It sounded like they had a really good time, and I am so happy they started a tradition that is healthy and enjoyable for each of them.

I walk a lot every day. I walk to work and I walk home from work. The total time is somewhere around 45-50 minutes. But I’m never all that tired. Since I decided to also start walking over my lunch break, I thought it might be helpful to do a little research about how to get the most out of my walking.

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/walking/HQ01612 : The Mayo Clinic has an article about how *brisk* walking can be excellent exercise. I am a bit of a slower paced walker. This article helped me realize that picking up my pace, and feeling “warm” as I’m walking is going to reap many more benefits than my current slow paced exercise. They also give excellent tips like “very your routine” and “make sure to stretch.” Those probably sound obvious, but they haven’t always been for me. I never stretch when I walk (probably because my slow pace really doesn’t extend much impact on my body) and I take the same street every day.

Here’s an article that found that children living near parks, playgrounds, and sports fields walked more than other children: http://www.rodale.com/walking-and-parks

Here’s an article about starting a daily walking program: http://www.rodale.com/walking-program?page=0,0

Here’s an article about how PedNet Director in Chicago is trying to get schools to rethink how students get to school: http://www.columbiatribune.com/news/2012/sep/27/schools-look-at-benefits-of-getting-kids-walking/

In general, I’m exstatic that walking is a part of my life, and is becoming a part of others lives as well. Walking can only bring good into my loved ones lives, and I’m overjoyed to see it will, because they want it to.

One thought on “Day 5: The Importance of Walking

  1. Honey,I can’t tell you how important it is to stretch. without it you don’t retain the flex. you need to get the full benefit.It also helps to keep you from injury. It’s a really good start to your workout,also. Keep up the good work,whenever you can.Remember,it doesn’t absolutely need to be an every day thing.something is always better than nothing. GOOD LUCK,Kiddo.

Leave a comment